Time – prioritising UGC

January 2, 2007 § 3 Comments

…..and now it’s 2007. The new year always sends me into a low level panic about time and how the older I get the quicker it goes by and the less I have. My latest stress is how to keep up with all of the blogs I want to read let alone add content to my own. I know there are many time saving tricks, rss subscription etc, but they don’t really address the fact that at the moment I just can’t physically spend that much time at a desk in front of a computer, and any mobile device I have is now the property of my 2 year old . Of course it’s a matter of prioritising and these days if I have spare couple of hours to myself I’d like rush off to see an exhibition, see a friend or read a book but usually end up cleaning the bathroom, vacuuming the house etc etc and thinking of things I’d like to blog and then eventually sitting down to quickly type them out whilst the kid is watching Bob the Builder.  I suppose the crux of the matter is how to prioritise personal blogging in a busy schedule, for me paid work has to be done first then the toilet training and then the house work. How is user generated content valued? How should I value my blog in my day to day doings – I don’t really know the answer yet. How indeed should I value the content I create? I know that a blog’s measure is in the number of connections it makes with others, but it’s personal value is different for every blogger and for every reader, after all one woman’s cruft may be another woman’s pearl of wisdom.      

§ 3 Responses to Time – prioritising UGC

  • kriisp says:

    Interesting post. Had the same thoughts some time ago. And how should you value the time you spend on your blog? My conclusion after thinking a bit about was that maybe you shouldn’t… cause in trying to value the (personal, “free”) time you spend on your blog you’re kinda de-valuing it. Or focusing to much on the result instead of just focusing on the joy of blogging.
    If that makes sense 🙂

  • Francesca says:

    I see what you mean, especially about not focusing so much on the result but rather the pure joy of blogging. I have to work on that joy factor, but I have a feeling it does become more pleasurable to blog when you have the time to do it justice. And then I come back to finding time and prioritising my blog in the greater scheme of my day to day doings. I’ll come back to this in a couple of years and maybe I’ll have more of an idea.

  • cqkgjytmwg says:

    cqkgjytmwg cqkgjytmwg cqkgjytmwgcqkgjytmwg
    cqkgjytmwgcqkgjytmwgcqkgjytmwg cqkgjytmwg

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Time – prioritising UGC at Making Conversation with Museums.

meta

